This Blog was brought to you by the Traffic Violations Attorney San Antonio Gordon Slade 210-820-3033
Our Law Firm has a wealth of experience in providing legal advice to motorists charged with a wide range of traffic offenses, including suspended license, DUI, and speeding tickets. We strive to offer professionally researched information that you can count on to save you from spending countless hours of your precious time in court and, more importantly, hundreds of dollars in fines and raised insurance premiums. Speeding tickets in the advanced technological era we live in, there’s little or no chance to cry foul when you are caught speeding. Police officers are equipped with top-of-the-line radar and laser guns to catch speeders and use cameras to enforce the 20 MPH speed limit near elementary and middle schools. Furthermore, police are also equipped with helicopters that they use to track speeding motorists from the sky. The best tip for avoiding a speeding ticket is to avoid speeding. Speeding also contributes to a high number of fatal crashes and deaths each year, so driving within the speed limit can help prevent you from adding to these numbers.
DUI & DWI
DUI (driving under the influence) & DWI (driving while intoxicated) – are two acronyms that are often confused with each other, most notably because there is no national definition of either violation. Many states will punish these offenses differently, given that the two crimes often refer to the same but different driving behaviors. DUI is also referred to as DWI and is a person convicted of driving under the influence of alcohol when caught driving with a blood alcohol of .08 percent or higher. DUI or DWI charges are not just limited to alcohol but also recreational drugs and driving when your prescription drugs impair your abilities. Both are serious offenses governed by a few rules and procedures in the Municipal Court. It gets a bit trickier, given that most courts in the state of Texas take over a few weeks to file your case, whereas some cities require you to appear in court within the first 48 hours. Worse, prosecutors always seek a considerably high bail and several pretrial release conditions on every DWI or DUI case.
Driving without Insurance
Penalties when driving without insurance can be steep and vary depending on whether you are going with no insurance or driving without insurance in the event of an accident. In Texas, you must have at least $30,000 in liability coverage for each injured person, up to $60,000 per accident, and $25,000 for property damage per accident. This basic coverage is called 30/60/25. Take note that the same penalties are applied as driving without insurance, even if you have some range but fail to meet the aforementioned coverage requirements. You may face license suspension if you do not have your proof of insurance at the time of the collision. But on a brighter note, you have sixty days from the accident to provide insurance documentation to avoid license suspension.
The state keeps track of the number of vehicle accidents in Texas. If you have been injured or involved in a car accident that has tragically taken the life of your loved one, it is essential to get in touch with an experienced car accident attorney to learn about your rights to compensation.
Red Light Violation
Some cities in Texas are equipped with red-light cameras that have caught thousands of people running red lights. When you run a red light, the city is kind enough to send you a ticket in the mail, which is the same amount you would pay if you ran a red light in front of a police officer. However, there is often some debate about traffic-light infractions because the cameras photograph the vehicle’s license plates and can’t determine the person behind the wheel. If you feel you have been fined incorrectly, it is best to speak with an attorney to see if the charges can be dropped off your record and have the traffic ticket dismissed.